The Female of the Species Book Review

I don’t know how to begin this review. I could go on and on, but it would become incessant chatter. I will just start with this quote from the book which really stuck with me.

But boys will be boys, our favorite phrase that excuses so many things, while the only thing we have for the opposite gender is women, said with disdain and punctuated with an eye roll.

This book follows a triad of perspectives. Alex, Jack, and Peekay. Alex is trying to deal with the murder of her sister, along with her violent behavior. Jack can’t help but be intrigued by this mysterious girl. Peekay and Alex become friends when they are working together at animal shelter. The three of them all become entangled because their town is so tiny and their paths are just meant to converge.

I had no idea what to expect when I began this book. I had heard nothing about it, however someone had made a recommendation I read it. So I picked up this book blindly and was definitely surprised.  This book is very dark and emotionally charged. Some of the parts were hard to read, but I felt that made it much more important to read because of the harshness.

Another quote from the book I’ll just leave here:

9F4C9980-1FEE-4B8B-BC79-1F01D9F91F7C-3035-00000495AFC7317B_tmp.png

Warning to anyone who can’t handle rape, sexual assault, animal cruelty, and violence. This book may not be for you.

Leave a Reply

