Under Rose Tainted Skies Book Review

EA492034-2E7A-4DF7-B37E-3EF750272D56-4789-0000072D2CB40EB1_tmp.png

A solid 5/5 stars. Maybe this will be the year of 5 star reads. I think I’ve already guven out two, and it’s not even February.

I loved this book so much. I wanted to read it as soon as I heard about it, and I found myself just gripped beyond belief to finish Norah’s story.

I didn’t know a book could encapsulate anxiety so well. Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. The book takes you very deep inside of Norah and her mental illness. She doesn’t make it seem like she is going to be cured just because she meets a boy. Norah has realistic anxiety attacks and deals with self harm. There is so sugar coating of the struggles she faces. I could feel her pain as I was reading the book, and it reminds me of my own struggles. Sometimes this book can be a little scary because it shows the own problems your anxiety causes you. It’s a mirror at times. Which both a good and a bad thing, I suppose.

I love the romance though I am sure there are some people who feel like romance isn’t needed in a book like this. I remember when I read Finding Audrey, I loved that book as well. The romance in this book seemed a little more believable because Norah wasn’t like oh, I am going to leave my house because of Luke. I mean, she’s still nervous around him all of the time and she still struggles to just hold his hand. Luke isn’t the magical cure to her illness. He is sometimes her motivator to get well, but she is doing it for herself too. Still the romance in this book is cute. I would completely fall head over heels for a guy like him, not going to lie. He’s adorable and he tries to understand her illness instead of trying to change her.

I knew I was going to love this book when I heard about it. I just didn’t know how much. This book is spectacular in so many ways. It helped me to understand more about mental illness and even about my own anxiety and problems I face. Everything about this book is wonderful, and I would highly suggest this book to anyone who wants a realistic perspective of mental health issues and how the stigma around them needs to end. Because people are still people. The author did an amazing job, and I look forward to more books from her in the future.

I loved this book so much. I wanted to read it as soon as I heard about it, and I found myself just gripped beyond belief to finish Norah’s story.

I didn’t know a book could encapsulate anxiety so well. Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. The book takes you very deep inside of Norah and her mental illness. She doesn’t make it seem like she is going to be cured just because she meets a boy. Norah has realistic anxiety attacks and deals with self harm. There is so sugar coating of the struggles she faces. I could feel her pain as I was reading the book, and it reminds me of my own struggles. Sometimes this book can be a little scary because it shows the own problems your anxiety causes you. It’s a mirror at times. Which both a good and a bad thing, I suppose.

I love the romance though I am sure there are some people who feel like romance isn’t needed in a book like this. I remember when I read Finding Audrey, I loved that book as well. The romance in this book seemed a little more believable because Norah wasn’t like oh, I am going to leave my house because of Luke. I mean, she’s still nervous around him all of the time and she still struggles to just hold his hand. Luke isn’t the magical cure to her illness. He is sometimes her motivator to get well, but she is doing it for herself too. Still the romance in this book is cute. I would completely fall head over heels for a guy like him, not going to lie. He’s adorable and he tries to understand her illness instead of trying to change her.

I knew I was going to love this book when I heard about it. I just didn’t know how much. This book is spectacular in so many ways. It helped me to understand more about mental illness and even about my own anxiety and problems I face. Everything about this book is wonderful, and I would highly suggest this book to anyone who wants a realistic perspective of mental health issues and how the stigma around them needs to end. Because people are still people. The author did an amazing job, and I look forward to more books from her in the future.

Leave a Reply

